Skip to main content.

Back to Web Site

Sunset Valley
Incorporated in 1954

Council Committees, Boards and Commissions

City Standing Committees
In an effort to handle many of the demands imposed on city government, the City Council is subdivided into administrative committees also called standing committees. The committees are organized by service or function and act as a liaison between the Council and individual departments. Each Council Member serves as the Chairperson of a standing committee and appointed at the first regular meeting following the city elections or as soon thereafter as possible. Appointments are for a term of one (1) year.

Each committee is comprised of a minimum of three (3) regular members. Additional appointments as alternate numbers may also be made. All regular and alternate members serving on a committee must be a resident of the City. One (1) honorary member who is not a resident of the City, but may have experience in a related field that provides a valuable resource to the Committee may by appointed.

Notices of upcoming Committee meetings are posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act at City Hall.

The City Committees are:

Budget, Finance and Administration

Community and Economic Development

Planning and Environmental Committee

Public Safety Committee

Public Works Committee

Meetings of these committees are open to the public, and are usually held at the Sunset Valley City Hall at 3205 Jones Road.

City Boards and Commissions

Arts Commission

Board of Adjustment

Zoning Commission

This is the official website of Sunset Valley, TX